A Bit of a Reality Check.

February 16, 2008 at 2:54 pm (aww, jesus, kids, orchard valley, small groups, thoughts)

100_6449.jpg

This is Amanda. She just joined my small group a few months ago.

This morning at our FUEL meeting, I got to talk with Amanda’s mom for a while and she told me that Amanda has been trying to part her hair to the side “because that’s how Bekah’s is”. She also told me that the other day they were at the store and Amanda started running around the store whipping clothes off the clothes racks and chucking them in the cart. Her bewildered mom had asked what in the world she was doing and she said she was picking out Bekah clothes.

I’ve heard things like this from a few moms, which really makes me think about how I live my life.

These 6 year old girls want to be just like me.

I never realized how much of an impact I actually had on them. They want to talk like me, dress like me, do what I do. I’d better make sure I’m living every moment and breathing every breath for Jesus Christ and setting the best example I can.

2 Comments

  1. Stephanie said,

    Hey Bekah!

    That is SO great that you are realizing at such a young age the impact that you have on people and that you are relying on God to help you be more Christ-like each and every day. I am glad that you are striving to be the best example you can be. You are mature beyond your years!!!

    My husband, Ed, and I have been working on figuring out a date to come to Chicago to visit the Hodges. As soon as we have something figured out, I will let you know because I would love to meet you in person.

    Love, Steph

  2. emmsy said,

    what a privillege, and what a responsibility… I’m reminded of that line in Spiderman (excellent theologian you know!!), “With great power comes great responsibility.” Don’t be too scared of the fact they want to be like you, Paul encouraged his converts to imitate him, but it’s also really great that you are thinking about it and thinking about how best to impact their lives for good. You rock!

Leave a Reply

